Restless Heart

I’m realizing that I can’t keep waiting for things to be permanent because they never will be. I don’t think God calls us to something and then that’s how it is forever. Things change. People move. There’s love and loss. And in the midst of it all, the only constant thing is Jesus.

Read More

CREATE 2019: Vision Board

There are various beliefs about vision boards (see Oprah and The Secret), but I simply like being able to look at something  that reminds me what my intentions for the year are. Vision boards keeps me from getting sidetracked or distracted by making me think about my goals every day. 

Read More

My resolution to fight fear and embrace creativity

I love a good New Year’s resolution.

As an Enneagram 1, there’s something particularly exciting about getting a fresh start and reviving the motivation to conquer my goals. At the end of each December, I love sitting down with my notebook and a new planner to brainstorm all the things I want to do or improve upon in the new year, the 12 months ahead sparkling with possibility.

Read More

Bike Rides, Swedish Curmudgeons, and Wedding Disasters: My Favorite Books of 2018

It’s that time again, where I look back on my reading year and round up my favorite books. To be honest, I didn’t read as much as I would have liked. I’ve said this before, but I am a very slow reader and it doesn’t help that I’m easily distracted by Netflix. But, overall, I can confidently say that I did read some QUALITY books in 2018. So here are my top book picks of the year, in no particular order:

Read More

Be where your feet are with ‘Come Matter Here’

I discovered Hannah Brencher right after I graduated from college. I picked up a copy of her first book, If You Find This Letter, and it felt like she had written it for me. Hannah’s words and raw honesty about how she found purpose during a hard time in her life by leaving love letters […]

Read More

‘Girl, Wash Your Face’ is a well of wit and wisdom

“Do you ever suspect that everyone else has life figured out and you don’t have a clue?” If you’re anything like me, you answered “Yes” to that question. And if so, Girl, Wash Your Face by Rachel Hollis might be the book for you. Hollis is best known for her lifestyle website, The Chic Site, where she […]

Read More

My WHOLE30 Experience

When my roommates decided they were going to do Whole30 and they wanted me to join them, my immediate reaction was “Hell no!” I had heard about the diet and seen all the pretty pictures of Whole30-approved meals on Instagram, but one glance at the list of “rules” and foods I couldn’t eat had me […]

Read More

Learning to See Beyond the Mountain

Let me start off by telling you that Educated by Tara Westover is the best memoir I’ve ever read! This captivating and inspirational story about a girl breaking free from her family’s ideals to pursue an education will stay with you for a long time—perfect for fans of The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls and Augusten […]

Read More

The Line Becomes a River

Lately, I’ve been on a nonfiction kick. There’s something about a true story that engages and connects me more than any other genre. It’s a chance to take part in a conversation that’s happening in the world, allowing the reading experience to go beyond me and the book I’m holding. One such conversation I feel […]

Read More