Bike Rides, Swedish Curmudgeons, and Wedding Disasters: My Favorite Books of 2018

It’s that time again, where I look back on my reading year and round up my favorite books. To be honest, I didn’t read as much as I would have liked. I’ve said this before, but I am a very slow reader and it doesn’t help that I’m easily distracted by Netflix. But, overall, I can confidently say that I did read some QUALITY books in 2018. So here are my top book picks of the year, in no particular order:

Read More

Be where your feet are with ‘Come Matter Here’

I discovered Hannah Brencher right after I graduated from college. I picked up a copy of her first book, If You Find This Letter, and it felt like she had written it for me. Hannah’s words and raw honesty about how she found purpose during a hard time in her life by leaving love letters […]

Read More

‘Girl, Wash Your Face’ is a well of wit and wisdom

“Do you ever suspect that everyone else has life figured out and you don’t have a clue?” If you’re anything like me, you answered “Yes” to that question. And if so, Girl, Wash Your Face by Rachel Hollis might be the book for you. Hollis is best known for her lifestyle website, The Chic Site, where she […]

Read More

Learning to See Beyond the Mountain

Let me start off by telling you that Educated by Tara Westover is the best memoir I’ve ever read! This captivating and inspirational story about a girl breaking free from her family’s ideals to pursue an education will stay with you for a long time—perfect for fans of The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls and Augusten […]

Read More

The Line Becomes a River

Lately, I’ve been on a nonfiction kick. There’s something about a true story that engages and connects me more than any other genre. It’s a chance to take part in a conversation that’s happening in the world, allowing the reading experience to go beyond me and the book I’m holding. One such conversation I feel […]

Read More

Uncommon Type

Let it be known that I am a big Tom Hanks fan. Like HUGE. You’ve Got Mail is my favorite movie, and Hanks is my favorite actor. So when I learned that he had a book of short stories coming out, I just had to get my hands on it. And guess what? America’s dad can […]

Read More

Friendship in a Foreign Land

“Maybe if you only understand half of what a person says, you can more readily read the sincerity of their gestures. Maybe language is much less important than I think it is, and therefore much less frightening.” When Margaret Brickshaw and her husband arrive in Jordan, Cassie Hugo thinks she might have finally found a […]

Read More

Submerged Secrets

In a small, English town runs a river with a dark past. When Nel Abbott jumps to her death in the river, she leaves behind her teenage daughter. Nel’s sister, Jules, comes to take care of her, returning to a town she was desperate to run away from. But this isn’t the first person to […]

Read More

Call of the Wild

Do you ever think about getting away from the world? Ever contemplate taking a break and relaxing out in the woods by yourself for while? Well, one guy decided to do just that…for 27 years. The Stranger in the Woods by Michael Finkel is the true story of the hermit Christopher Knight. In 1986, 20-year-old Knight […]

Read More